New Chairman and Honorary President to celebrate Chamber centenary

Mark Read has been elected as Chairman of Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce as the business membership organisation prepares to mark its 100th anniversary.


He has held a position on the Chamber board since May 2011 in his capacity as Chairman of Ely Chamber of Commerce, a position he will continue to hold whilst Chairman of the wider organisation. An established entrepreneur, Mark is also a board member at the Greater Cambridge Greater Peterborough Enterprise Partnership.  


Outgoing Chairman Iain Crighton, who had led the organisation’s board of directors for seven years before standing down at the organisation’s recent AGM, has been appointed Honorary President. 


Speaking of his appointment Mark Read, Chairman of Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce, said:

“This is a hugely exciting time to be leading the board at Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce and a great privilege to do so in a special year that will celebrate the achievements not just of the Chamber itself over the last 100 years but of our members.  On behalf of the board I would like to express our deepest thanks to Iain for his many years of service to the Chamber and our delight that he will be our honorary President during 2017.”


Iain Crighton MBE, Honorary President of Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce, said:

“After many years of involvement with the Chamber, including 13 years as Chairman of the Peterborough Chamber committee, it has been nothing but a privilege to represent the Cambridgeshire business community and actively support many initiatives over the years that have successfully contributed not only to the growth of individual members but also to the wider economic area.

“The Chamber is in a great place in terms of the security it can offer its members, as well as its reputation and strategic influence across the area. I’m personally very proud of the Chambers’ achievements and am looking forward to joining in the organisation’s centenary celebrations as Honorary President throughout 2017.”