Larkfleet Group ( CEO Karl Hick has been named as a regional winner of the ‘master entrepreneur’ category in the national Ernst and Young Entrepreneur Awards (

In a prestigious ceremony, Karl was named as the Midlands ‘master entrepreneur’ and is now competing with the three other regional ‘master entrepreneur’ winners (North, Scotland and London & the South) for the national prize.

The Ernst and Young awards team defines ‘master entrepreneur’ as “an entrepreneur who has been the lead director of one or more businesses for a period exceeding 10 years and therefore led a long, distinguished and successful entrepreneurial career”.

Karl’s nomination for the award focused on his entrepreneurial journey, especially his achievements at Larkfleet Group. Under Karl’s leadership, Larkfleet Group has grown to become a highly successful group of businesses that share a common philosophy of ‘sustainable development’. From starting the Larkfleet Group with a staff of just three in 2002, Karl has led the company to become an award-winning housebuilder and community developer, a major developer of sustainable energy projects and provider of energy-efficiency improvements for new and existing buildings.

Karl commented: “It is a great honour to be recognised in these awards as a ‘master entrepreneur’ – especially as I was up against such tough competition. I am incredibly proud of my achievements with Larkfleet Group and I plan to channel my expertise and enthusiasm so that the company continues to grow, consistently increasing its geographical reach, its client base and its investment and expertise in sustainable technologies within a variety of markets.”

Karl was put through a strict judging process which included not only producing a standard written award entry but also delivering a presentation to a panel of judges and being interviewed by them personally.

The eventual overall UK winner of the ‘master entrepreneur’ category will join the other global country winners in Monte Carlo to vie for the title of World Entrepreneur of the Year.